• Humanities Department

  •        Location: C-745
           Phone: (718) 482-5690

  • Click any link below to see Faculty contact information, listed by Program:

  •  Communication Studies

    Alberta Arnold, Lecturer  

    Office: C-745-E    Email: aarnold@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Lisa Barry, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-Q     Email: lbarry@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Robert Bruno, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-HH     Email: rbruno@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Salvador Cuellar, Lecturer 

    Email: scuellar@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Sandra Dickinson, Professor -Speech/Language Pathology 

    Office: C-745-II    Email: sandrad@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Erika Heppner, Lecturer 

    Office: C-745-H    Email: eheppner@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Mark King, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-G     Email: mking@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Contact: Louis Lucca, Director of Communication

    Office: C-745-ZZ    Email: luccalo@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Eman Mosharafa, Assistant Professor  

    Office: C-745-O    Email: emosharafa@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Sean Palmer, College Lab Technician   

    Office: C-242     Email: spalmer@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Gary Richmond, Lecturer  

    Email: richmondga@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Dr. Joni Schwartz, Assistant Professor  

    Office: C-745-F   Email: jschwartz@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Patricia Sokolski, Lecturer  

    Office: C-745-T    Email: psokolski@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Phalangchock Wanphet, Instructor 

    Email: pwanphet@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Shaunee Wallace, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-P   Email: swallace@lagcc.cuny.edu  

     Fine Arts

    Bruce W. Brooks, Professor 

    Office: C-745-DD          Email: brooksbr@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Cris Cristofaro, Adjunct Associate Professor 

    Office: M-223          Email: ccristofaro@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Dahlia Elsayed, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-N          Email: delsayed@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Helmut Eppich, College Lab Technician 

    Office: M-223          Email: heppich@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Arianne Fernandez, Adjunct Lecturer 

    Office: M-223          Email: afernandez@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Hugo Fernandez, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-BB          Email: hufernandez@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Fern Luskin, Lecturer 

    Office: C-745-TT         Email: luskinfe@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Ari Richter, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-V          Email: arichter@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Rosemary Mayer, Lecturer 

    Office: C-745-L          Email: rmayer@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Michael Rodriguez, Chair of Humanities Department, Professor  

    Office: C-745-AA          Email: mirodriguez@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Arthur Simms , Director of Fine Arts Program  

    Office: C-745-Y          Email: asimms@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Gary Vollo, Chief College Lab Technician  

    Office: M-223          Email: gvollo@lagcc.cuny.edu 

     Industrial Design

    Contact: DennisD’Amelio, Coordinator  
    Office: C-745-EE          
    Email: ddamelio@lagcc.cuny.edu  

     Media and Technology

    John Henry Davis,  Professor 

    Email: jdavis@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Bethany Jacobson, Assistant Professor

    Office: C-745-I           Email: bjacobson@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Contact: Joyce Rheuban,  Professor,  Director of Media Studies

    Office: C-745-X          Email: rheubanjo@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    James Ricardson,  Professor,  Assistant Professor  

    Office: C-745-RR           Email: jaricardson@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Thomas Seymour, College Lab Technician   

    Office: M-121           Email: tseymour@lagcc.cuny.edu  

     Media Studies

    Contact: Dr. Joyce Rheuban, Director
    Office: C-745-X           
    Email: rheubanjo@lagcc.cuny.edu 

     Music Option

    Lisa DeSpain

    Lisa DeSpain

    Music Option Program Director
    Associate Professor of Music and Theatre

    Professor Lisa DeSpain is the composer of STORYVILLE, an original musical based on the historical events surrounding the closing of New Orleans’ famous red-light district and birthplace of jazz. STORYVILLE’s creative team includes Oscar-Award winning lyricist Kristen Anderson-Lopez (FROZEN), playwright Julia Jordan (MURDER BALLAD), and director Kate Whoriskey (RUINED). STORYVILLE was presented at NAMT (National Alliance for Musical Theatre) in 2014 and selected for development by the Goodman Theatre in Chicago.

    Lisa’s awards include a Dramatists Guild Fellowship, a Eugene O’Neill Center writer-in-residence, the ASCAP Commission Honoring the Duke Ellington, an NEA (National Endowment for the Arts) Jazz Fellowship, an Aaron Copland Fellowship, and a Barlow Award.

    Lisa’s commissions include a series of jazz ballet for The Buglisi Foreman Dance Company with premieres at the New Victory Theatre and Joyce Theatre, a cantata for the New Haven Symphony, a score for a circus (Flight of the Condor) and a fanfare celebrating the Wright Brother’s Centennial for Flight by the United States Air Force.

    She is the published arranger of multiple Broadway choral mash-ups including Pippin, The Who’s Tommy, Green Day/American Idiot, Once, Next to Normal, and Spring Awakening. She is the editor of “Broadway Presents!” a Musical Theatre Anthology series for training young voices.

    Lisa DeSpain Website

    Tom DempseyTom Dempsey

    Associate Professor of Music

    Tom Dempsey’s reputation for hard swinging sophistication and pure musicality have made him a distinctive voice in the New York jazz scene. Tom has performed and/or recorded with world renowned jazz musicians including: Wynton Marsalis, Paquito D’Rivera, Brad Mehldau, Kenny Barron, George Coleman, Jack McDuff, Bobby McFerrin, Mel Torme and Dave Brubeck. Dempsey performs as a leader and a sideman at some of the top jazz venues throughout the world including Jazz at Lincoln Center, San Francisco Jazz Festival, The Blue Note, Yoshi’s, Smalls and Smoke. He has recorded seven CDs as a leader and has appeared on numerous recordings of other artists. As a well-respected jazz educator Dempsey currently teaches for Jazz at Lincoln Center, the New York Pops and the New York Jazz Academy. He is an Associate Professor of Music at LaGuardia Community College/CUNY where he teaches music theory, harmony and counterpoint, guitar, improvisation, and coaches a variety of ensembles. He has also published seven books for Alfred Music, numerous articles for Premier Guitar Publications, three interactive educational products True Fire. Dempsey has and continues to contribute and consult Jazz at Lincoln Center in matters relating to their online education content for the Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Jazz Academy.

    Lisa DeSpainGustavo Moretto

    Professor of Music

    Gustavo Moretto was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, where he initiated his music career as a trumpet player, composer and pianist for Alma y Vida, one of that country's most famous bands. He later left the band to form Alas. Mr. Moretto toured extensively through Argentina and Chile and recorded six LP's for RCA and EMI. In 2005 a new CD was released called Mimame Bandoneon. His latest CD “Yo Me Acuerdo, Buenos Aires” was released in 2011. He holds a Doctorate degree in music composition from Columbia University, Bachelors Degree from The New England Conservatory and has been a professor at LaGuardia Community College in New York City since 1996. Mr. Moretto has received a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Norton Stevens Fellowship at the MacDowell Colony, ASCAP's Raymond Hubbell Music Scholarship Award, a Fellowship at the Composer's Conference at Wellesley College, and a Geraldine R. Dodge Foundation sponsorship at Yaddo. His classical works have been performed by the Washington Square Contemporary Music Society, the Earplay Music Ensemble of San Francisco, the Dinosaur Annex Music Ensemble of Boston, the Chamber Players of The Composers Conference at Wellesley College, Speculum Musicae at Columbia University, the Agrupación Nueva Música of Buenos Aires, the Grupo de Cámara de Buenos Aires, and others..

    Lisa DeSpainMark “Abishai” Brooks

    Music Recording Technology Program Director
    Professor of Music and Music Recording Technology

    Composer, songwriter, arranger, bassist, producer, and audio engineer, Mark "Abishai" Brooks was born in England; his family moved to the United States when he was five. Abishai studied voice at Michelangelo Intermediate School under Freda Edmead and Eddie Duchin. He completed his BA in Jazz Performance at Long Island University (Brooklyn Campus). Abishai has studied bass with Calvin Hill, Percy Jones (Band-X), Jerry Jermott, Greg Maker, and Angus Thomas. He has studied performance with Benny Powell, Bob Mintzer and Eddie Henderson. At the Brooklyn College Music Conservatory, Abishai studied Composition with Tania Leon, Jason Eckardt and Ben Bierman. Mark "Abishai" Brooks has been in the music industry for 28 years now and has performed and recorded with numerous artists. Some of these include singer songwriter ROB, Alan "Juice" Glover, Fred "wuj" Kimmel, Cedric "Im" Brooks (Skatalities), Rex Anthony, Kay Boyd, and Ernest "Super" Cooper among many others. Mark "Abishai" Brooks is currently the director of the Music Recording Technology program at LaGuardia Community College and is the head engineer for Buss Recording Studio in the Bronx, New York.

    Will Fulton

    Assistant Professor of Music

    Will Fulton is a record producer, music historian, guitarist and DJ. He is an Assistant Professor at LaGuardia, teaching HUM101 Intro to Music, HUM210 American Music, and the new HUM109 World Music. The focus of his scholarship is American popular music and recording technology. He has contributed articles to American Music Review, The Grove Dictionary of American Music (Oxford, 2014), and The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies (Oxford, forthcoming 2015), with topics including Jimi Hendrix, Kendrick Lamar, Stevie Wonder, and hip-hop production techniques. His compositions have appeared in feature films and television broadcasts, such as the 2007 Super Bowl broadcast (CBS Networks) and Breaking Bad (AMC, 2011), as well as numerous albums. He has produced and remixed music for Run-D.M.C., Tupac Shakur, Camp Lo, and Jay-Z. He has lectured internationally at conferences for the Society of American Music, American Musicological Society, International Musicological Society, and the American Studies Association. Before he began teaching, Will served as A&R Director for Profile Records and Slash/Warner Music. He holds a Master’s Degree in Musicology from Brooklyn College, and is a PhD Candidate in Musicology at the City University of New York..

     Music Recording Technology

    Mark Brooks, Director of Music Recording Technology 

    Office: C-745-SS / E-127          Email: mbrooks@lagcc.cuny.edu 

     New Media

    Contact: Richard Dragan, Director New Media 
    Email: rdragan@lagcc.cuny.edu 

     Performing Arts

    Taryn Anderson, College Lab Technician
    Email: taanderson@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Lisa DeSpain, Director
    Office: C-745-W          Email: ldespain@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Steven Hitt, Artistic Director of LaGuardia Performing Arts Center (LPAC)
    Office: E-241          Email: stevenh@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Jason Ramirez, Assistant Professor
    Email: jaramirez@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Stefanie Sertich, Associate Professor
    Office: C-745-CC          Email: ssertich@lagcc.cuny.edu 


    Leslie Aarons, Assistant Professor
    Office: C-745-R Email: laarons@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Vera Albrecht, Associate Professor
    Office:C-745-KK Email: valbrecht@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Richard Brown, Professor
    Office: C-745-GG Email: onemorebrown@gmail.com

    John Chaffee, Director of Philosophy
    Office: C-745-D Email: JCTHINK@aol.com

    Payal Doctor, Assistant Professor
    Office: C-745-JJ Email: payaldoctor@gmail.com

    Emmanuel Nartey , Assistant Professor
    Office: C-745-QQ Email: enatey@aol.com

    Gary Richmond, Lecturer
    Email: richmondga@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Cheri Carr, Assistant Professor
    Office: C-745-K Email: ccarr@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Shannon Proctor, Assistant Professor

    Office: C-745-M Email: sproctor@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Dana Trusso, Assistant Professor

    Office: C-745-ZZ Email: datrusso@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Vera Albrecht, Assistant Professor
    Office:C-745-KK         Email: valbrecht@lagcc.cuny.edu

    Richard Brown, Associate Professor
    Office: C-745-GG          Email: onemorebrown@gmail.com

    Roberto Ruiz, Lecturer



    Hugo Fernandez, Assistant Professor 

    Office: C-745-WBB        Email: hufernandez@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Javier Larenas, Senior College Lab Tech, Adjunct Lecturer  

    Office: B-336        Email: jlarenas@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Lidiya Kan, Higher Education Officer  

    Office: B-336        Email: lkan@lagcc.cuny.edu  

    Sarah Midkiff, Assistant Professor  

    Office: B-336 / C-745-M        Email: smidkiff@lagcc.cuny.edu 

    Scott Sternbach, Director of Photography

    Office: B-336 / C-745 J      Email: ssternbach@lagcc.cuny.edu 

  • LaGuardia Academic Calendar
    Academic Calendar
  • LaGuardia Blackboard
  • LaGuardia Schedule of Classes
    Class Schedules
  • MyLaGuardia
  • LaGuardia Get Help
    Get Help