• Academics
  • Academic Calendar

     

    Click here to download a printable version of the academic calendar (2013-2014).

    LaGuardia's academic calendar consists of two enhanced 18-week semesters. Each semester is split into a 12-week session (Fall I and Spring I) and a 6-week session (Fall II and Spring II). Classes are longer and/or meet more frequently in Fall II and Spring II, since students have to complete Session I coursework in half the time.

    This structure provides students with the option of earning more credits per semester than a traditional academic calendar. It also allows greater flexibility and choice in designing a program of study.

     

     2014 SPRING SEMESTER - SESSION I  
    Thursday Feb 13 Last Day to Apply for Readmission or Reinstatement for Spring 2014 Session I
    Thursday Feb 27 New Student Orientation 
    Friday Feb 28 Opening Sessions for Faculty & Staff
    Friday Feb 28 Last Day to Drop for 100% Tuition Refund
    Saturday Mar 1 First Day of Saturday Classes Spring Session I 
    Sunday Mar 2 First Day of Sunday Classes Spring Session I  
    Monday Mar 3 First Day of Weekday Classes Spring Session I 
    Monday Mar 3 First Day of Coop Internship
    Thursday Mar 6 Last Day to Add a Course or Change Course Sections/
    Last Day to Drop for 75% Tuition Refund
    Wednesday Mar 12 Last Day to Drop for 50% Tuition Refund
    Monday Mar 17 Last Day to Drop for 25% Tuition Refund
    Tuesday Mar 18 Withdrawal Period begins
    Tuesday Mar 25 Census Day / Verification of Attendance due to the Registrar to assign WN Grades / Last Day to Change Major for Spring Semester / Last Day to Submit Independence Study Contract
    Mon-Tues Apr 14-22 Spring Recess – No Classes Scheduled
    Wednesday Apr 23 Irregular Day – Classes Follow Monday Schedule
    Monday Apr 28 Last Day to Apply for the Following Candidacies:
    Dietetic Tech., LPN, Nursing, Occupational Therapist Asst., Physical Therapy Asst., and Radiologic Technology
    Tuesday Apr 29 Last Day to Apply for Spring 2014 Graduation
    Friday May 2 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course – A Grade of “W” willbe issued
    Thursday May 22 Last Day to Apply for Readmission or Reinstatement
    for Spring Session II
    Sat-Sun May 24-25 No Classes Scheduled
    Monday May 26 Memorial Day – College Closed
    Saturday May 31 Last Day of Saturday Classes 
    Sunday Jun 1 Last Day of Sunday Classes 
    Wednesday Jun 4 Last Day of Weekday Classes 
    Thursday Jun 5 Commencement – No Classes Scheduled 
    Fri-Thurs Jun 6-12 Final Examinations 
    Friday Jun 13 Grades and Attendance due by 4 PM
    Friday Jun 13 Last Day of Coop Internship


     2014 Spring SEMESTER - SESSION II 
    Thursday May 22 Last Day to Apply for Readmission or Reinstatement for Spring Session II
    Monday June 16 First Day of Coop Internship
    Wednesday June 18 Last Day to Drop for 100% Tuition Refund
    Thursday June 19 First Day of Weekday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Saturday June 21 First Day of Saturday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Sunday June 22 First Day of Sunday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Tuesday June 24 Last Day to Drop for 50% Tuition Refund
    Tuesday June 24 Last Day to Add a Course or Change Course Sections
    Monday June 30  Last Day to Drop for 25% Tuition Refund
    Tuesday July 1 Withdrawal Period Begins 
    Friday July 4 Independence Day - College Closed 
    Tuesday July 8 Census Day / Verification of Attendance due to the Registrar to assign a WN Grade / Last Day to Submit Independent Study Contract
    Monday July 21 Last Day to Withdraw from a Course - A grade of "W" will be Issued
    Saturday July 26 Last Day of Saturday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Sunday July 27 Last Day of Sunday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Wednesday July 30 Last Day of Weekday Classes - Spring Session II 
    Thursday July 31 Reading Day
    Sat-Thurs August 2-7 Final Examinations
    Monday August 11 Grades and Attendance Due by 4 PM
    Friday August 29  Last Day of Coop Internship

    *Drop - Students may drop a course and not receive a grade up until the 'Last Day to Drop for 25% Tuition Refund'.

    **Withdraw - Students may withdraw from classes after the last day to DROP a course with 25% refund till the last day of withdrawal and receive a "W" grade that is not calculated in the GPA. Students who officially withdraw from a course are NOT eligible for a tuition refund.

    Note: Evening Classes begin at 4:35 PM.

    Calendar Revised March 20, 2014

  • CatalogThumb 2013-2014 Catalog
  • Academic Calendar Thumbnail
    Academic Calendar
  • Schedule of Classes Thumbnail
    Schedule of Classes

  • Bookstore

  • Speak to An Advisor

LaGuardia Community College LaGuardia Community College 31-10 Thomson Ave. Long Island City, NY 11101 LaGuardia Community College 1-718-482-7200 LaGuardia Community College Map & Directions
Copyright © All Rights Reserved